The Basic 4C's For Diamond Quality: Carat, Cut, Clarity, Color

The Basic 4C's For Diamond Quality: Carat, Cut, Clarity, Color

4C's For Diamond Quality

1. Carat 

When it comes to purchasing a diamond, one of the most important factors to consider is the carat weight. Carat heavily influences the price of a diamond, with the cost rising exponentially as the carat weight increases. This means that a 1-carat diamond will generally cost more than two 0.5-carat diamonds of the same quality. A larger diamond may be priced four times higher than a diamond half its weight.

2. Cut

A diamond's cut grade refers to the quality of the diamond's cut, which directly impacts how well it reflects light. The cut grade is determined by the precision of the diamond's cut, the proportions of its facets, and the overall craftsmanship of the diamond.

3. Clarity

Diamond clarity is a crucial factor in determining the quality and value of a diamond. It refers to the presence of imperfections, or inclusions, within the stone as well as any blemishes on its surface. These imperfections can affect the diamond's brilliance and overall appearance. The clarity scale consists of six categories, ranging from the highest clarity grade of Flawless (FL) to the lowest grade of Included (I).

4. Color

Have you ever wondered how the color grade of a diamond is determined? Let's delve into the intricate world of diamond grading and discover the significance of color in these precious gemstones. The color grade of a diamond is a crucial factor in determining its value and beauty. Diamonds are graded on a scale that ranges from D to Z, with D being the highest grade representing a completely colorless diamond. As you move down the scale towards Z, the presence of color within the diamond becomes more apparent.

Back to blog

Leave a comment